I’ve always been a geek and I’ve always embraced my nerdiness. Since I’m such an attention wh— seeker, being “odd” has given me enough attention to believe I’m unique and special (and off course, we are all very unique and special, each and every one of us, but try telling a pre-teen/teen that!)

ImageGrowing up I had a bff who played the accordion, liked classical music and loved horses. She was even more odd than me, and with her I embraced my geekdom even more. It was she who took me to my first pen and paper RPG (roll playing game for you n00bs). A guy in her high school science class had asked her if she’d like to tag along and she decided to bring me with her – in case it blew and she wanted to leave (or the guys were all super wierdos and she needed to fight her way out of there, I was a tad more violent than her). The guys turned out to be super nice, geeky and (even if I didn’t know it then) my husband was among them. Bless her! That’s all I have to say about that.

It’s funny though, not counting my husband (we’ve been together for 13 years come August) I haven’t really met that many geeky men. Not that I’ve been looking mind you, just that I kinda thought they’d be all over the place (since I knew 8 of them in high school and they couldn’t have been the only ones around). But no, I’ve only met people that aren’t geeks och nerds, they’ve been super serious and haven’t understood my love of science fiction, fantasy, games and things weird.

ImageUntil last year that is! Now I have interweb conversations with quite a few people (men and women alike) about all the things that I love and the wonderful thing that is geekdom. I’ve discussed the characters in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time, the importance of alien tech in sci-fi, co-written fantasy short stories and I can’t even remember everything!

Lovely lovely interweb, you bring us all together!

Something that isn’t as lovely is my hair (which I’ve bitched about for some time now, and you’ll get more bitching coming), I don’t know when I’ll get it sorted… it HAS to be nice before Friday next week: that’s when my office buddy/bff is having her party. Don’t know how I’ll get into party mode with THIS mop of ugly sitting on the top of my head (sobbing).

Well now, I’ve done it again… spent my correction time blogging. Yay me! Back to the giant pile of papers then.

xoxo

